AMPHIBIC - There Were Millions Of Them

Amphibic - There Were Millions Of Them

6 songs
23:22 minutes
Haldern Pop


The worst you can say about music is that it sounds “nice”, or, to use the words of the late Douglas Adams: mostly harmless. Amphibic is a band led by Englishman Neal Hoffmann, who sings and plays guitar and keyboards. He is joined by a second guitarist/keyboardist, a Scandinavian rhythm section and a cellist they once lent Divine Comedy. It seems as if Neil Hannon’s band never gave her back, because this untypical instrument fails to set the necessary accents. What remains is rather common indie pop rock that suffers from a too gentle production. The label info sheet says that you don’t hear the sweat that was shed during the recordings of this EP, and I can only add: too bad! Hoffmann’s vocals are melodic but otherwise lack presence, the guitars could do with some punch, and when all is said and done, the listener remains clueless. Fortunately the title There Were Millions Of Them doesn’t apply: there are only six songs present, of which only the shorter and more rocking All Of The King’s Men really convinces. Considering that their debut album lies three years in the past, it’s strange that this band didn’t come up with more than just a six track EP. But who knows? Maybe a second longplayer is already in the making.

Until then, Neal Hoffmann and his band should aim for a grittier sound. This EP is never really bad, even above average, but ultimately fails when it comes to momentum. The one rocking track proves that Amphibic are definitely capable of more. Now they only need the will to reform.

Back to Reviews